Watch Out: Instagram Starts Alerting People When You Take a Screenshot
By kenneth Dennis 7 months ago In Gals   Comments: Comments Off on Watch Out: Instagram Starts Alerting People When You Take a Screenshot

Attention, world: Instagram just made it so much harder to creep. In another update that makes it even more like Snapchat, the app rolled out a feature that allows you to send disappearing photos and videos privately.

To backtrack: Earlier this year in August, Instagram introduced Stories, which allows users to add photos and videos that would only live on their accounts for 24 hours. And in a new feature announced last week, the app now allows you to send moments to select friends—rather than all of your followers—via Instagram Direct. But there’s a catch: Instagram will send out a notification to the poster if you take a screenshot.

 

Today we’re announcing two updates: live video on Instagram Stories and disappearing photos and videos for groups and friends in Instagram Direct. Now you can send disappearing photos and videos directly to groups and individual friends in a spontaneous, pressure-free way. Swipe right into the camera to take a photo or video, then tap the arrow to send it privately. You can choose a group or create one in just a few taps — and you can also send to individual friends at the same time. Send anything you want, from inside jokes to your worst selfies. Unlike other messages in Direct, these photos and videos disappear from your friends’ inboxes after they have seen them. And you’ll see if they replayed it or took a screenshot. To open your inbox, tap the new paper airplane icon at the top right corner of your feed or swipe left. You’ll see disappearing photos and videos in a bar at the top. Tap the ones with blue rings to see what your friends sent you. In a group, you can see everyone’s responses — and who else has seen them — in a slideshow format. Then when you’re done, just tap their faded profile photo to send a quick response. Disappearing photos and videos in Instagram Direct will start rolling out globally today. You can learn more about today’s updates at help.instagram.com.

A video posted by Instagram (@instagram) on

 

Here’s how you send a disappearing photo or video, as explained by Instagram’s blog post: “Swipe right into the camera to take a photo or video, then tap the arrow to send it privately. You can choose a group or create one in just a few taps—and you can also send to individual friends at the same time.”

“Unlike other messages in Direct, these photos and videos disappear from your friends’ inboxes after they have seen them,” the company explains. “And you’ll see if they replayed it or took a screenshot.”

 

So, like Snapchat, your friends will get a notification if you save their photo for later, but not on public photos, i.e., pics on their feed or their Instagram Story. The notifications will only appear if you screenshot a moment sent to you via Direct.

Comments are closed.